BIAN Foundation Certification

Attain in-depth knowledge and understanding of BIAN, learn how to architect a bank using BIAN standard and obtain BIAN Foundation Certification
View BIAN Calendar

Earn the new BIAN certification this year

  • Attain in-depth knowledge and understanding of BIAN 
  • Learn how to architect a bank using BIAN standard
  • Obtain BIAN Foundation Certification through BIAN certification exam
  • CC&C has trained thousands of Architects world-wide
  • We are an experienced partner for major banks world-wide
  • Your trainer is an actual architect with hands-on experience!

BIAN: The Way Ahead for Architecture Standards in Banking

The BIAN model is the new standard for modelling capabilities, APIs and microservices for a full range of banking activities.

Quick facts

Duration 2 Days
Delivery Method Virtual Online
Prerequisites None
Examination Yes
Certification Yes

Course Objective

BIAN Foundation certification demonstrates your knowledge of the BIAN banking architecture standard. Certification addresses educational Levels 1 and 2 (according to Bloom’s Revised Taxonomy):

  • Remembering (Bloom Level 1): The delegate will be able to: Remember factual information including lists, Recognize symptoms, settings and patterns, Recall how to perform an existing process, and Identify strategies for retaining information.
  • Understanding (Bloom Level 2): The delegate will be able to: Summarize features, Classify the different BIAN artifacts, Clarify by creating Business Scenarios, and Predict a correct response or situation.

The certification authority for the BIAN Foundation exam is Van Haren Learning Solutions.

Learning Objectives

Be able to describe the purpose of BIAN and its design principles

Be able to describe and recognize fully those design principles including:

    1. ● Non-overlapping functionality
    1. ● Discrete service centers to model a bank
    1. ● Dynamic behavior of static assets

Be able to describe and recognize BIAN artifacts in the correct context including:

    1. ● Business scenarios
    1. ● Functional patterns
    1. ● Action terms
    1. ● Behavior qualifiers
    1. ● Asset types
    1. ● Control records
Who should attend

The BIAN certification is intended for enterprise architects, solution architects, consultants and advisors working in the banking and financial services industry. IT professionals in the following roles should consider BIAN Foundation certification:

    1. ● Enterprise Architects
    1. ● Business Architects
    1. ● Solution Architects
    1. ● Data / Information Architects
    1. ● Application Architects
    1. ● Infrastructure Architects
    1. ● Security Architects
    1. ● Program / Project Managers
    1. ● Business Analysts
    1. ● Development Team Leaders
    1. ● Experienced Developers

Delegates should have some Enterprise Architecture experience or knowledge, such as TOGAF® or similar certification or Enterprise Architecture experience in a financial services business context.

  • Number of questions : 60
  • Duration of exam: 60 minuts
  • Pass Mark: 70%
  • Open/Closed book? Closed
  • Language: English
  • Re-exam included: Yes, for accredited courses
  • Exam delivery: Online, on location possible upon request
Topics Covered
  1. Introduction to BIAN
  2. BIAN’s primary purpose and approach
  3. Understanding the theory of BIAN
  4. The BIAN service landscape
  5. How to apply the BIAN standard
  6. Assembling a representative enterprise blueprint for a bank
  7. An enterprise blueprint as a framework for analysis
  8. BIAN and the TOGAF ADM